A Varied Collection 3

This is for the Princeton supplement, its on my favourite quote:

“ Ask and you shall receive,

Seek and you shall find,

Knock and it shall be opened unto you.”

I am an optimist, because I have always thought that was the only sensible way to approach life. However, my philosophy is a little more rational than “All is well, and this is the best of all possible worlds” and this passage from the Bible expresses it very succinctly. I will receive everything that I desire…but only if I ask for it. If my desire for something is intense enough, if I am prepared to sacrifice enough for it, then I will surely get it. Food keeps men alive, but hope is what keeps them living and struggling, and mine is a philosophy of hope.

One of the things my father has taught me very thoroughly is the importance of hard work. He constantly emphasized that, no matter what a man’s circumstances, his persistence and industry is what will determine his success or failure. There are no substitutes to hard work. The only way to “ask nicely” for something is to keep working at it, and the only thing that will achieve results is the “single minded pursuit of excellence”.

Leave a Reply

