Writing

I know I’m far too young for this part, but I want to write a story with a major character “who drifted through high school, went to community college, dropped out and had a kid, then years later matured enough to return to school, got a degree (in physics, gargoyle studies, bootyology, whatever) and then saved the world.” Of course, purely for personal ego-fulfilment, I’d also want to have a major character who’s “special”, just like in every other SF/F/anything story I’ve ever read. I want to have morally ambiguous characters whose morals are ambiguous enough that readers never know who to support… and I still want a “happy ending”. I have no idea how I’ll accomplish that… maybe by having chapters from everyone’s viewpoints, “heroes” and “villains” alike. I want to write a novel that would pass the Bechdel Test if it was made into a movie, and fulfil as many other conditions mentioned after the jump as I can. I want nonlinear story-telling that you don’t have to read thrice to get. Twice, if you’re not too smart, but not thrice unless you’re really stupid. (Where MY definition of stupid is,say, anyone with an IQ below 100, and really stupid is below 90, which is slightly elitist and not the conventional definition. I think.)

Also, at some point I want to try my hand at writing an actual story that is neither Science Fiction nor Fantasy, which is something I haven’t done since middle school. But I highly doubt I COULD write a comtemporary novel, so this will have to be a short story, at best.

In other news, the entries are rolling in for the conventional category, but still far too few for both Short Sketch and Fan-fiction. I’m considering extending the deadline by say another week for both of those categories, especially since the judges for those don’t have any problems. I’ll decide after seeing the total entries by midnight. I just finished the “dry run” for the On the Spot event, and have just been told that I DO only have one vol, so THAT’s going to be a problem. 😦

4 thoughts on “Writing

  1. 🙂 It was more a social protocol thing i.e. more of a question of how I’d tell one of the vols I’d already taken, who had already assumed for over a month that she was my vol, that she in fact wasn’t. Not that it was much of a problem, finally, but still. Although, depending on how many people write and how good (or uniformly bad 🙂 ) they are in general, I might need some extra help, so thanks for the offer, I may take you up on it 🙂

  2. “I want to have morally ambiguous characters whose morals are ambiguous enough that readers never know who to support… and I still want a “happy ending”. I have no idea how I’ll accomplish that… maybe by having chapters from everyone’s viewpoints, “heroes” and “villains” alike. I want to write a novel that would pass the Bechdel Test if it was made into a movie, and fulfil as many other conditions mentioned after the jump as I can. I want nonlinear story-telling that you don’t have to read thrice to get.”

    I so would read that…

  3. 🙂 Well, I hope so. But it’s going to be a LOT harder to write it than to talk about it. Did you know that the one time I wrote a summary ( a fairly long and detailed summary, I mean, not a vague “idea”, that I wrote a little over 5 months back) of a novel I could possibly, if I had enough time, write one day, it fulfilled NONE of these conditions? No, really. Well, except the non-linear story telling part. But maybe even that’s just because I didn’t actually write the whole thing. I had a male hero who dominated the entire novel, (not necessarily white, but certainly like every white male hero I’ve ever read about), who was pretty obviously “good”, if prone to ‘temptation/corruption”, which the majority of readers will excuse, since he allowed himself to engage in activities on the moral grey spectrum only for a “noble” or at least understandable purpose. And the major (and only, in my summary 😦 ) female character was important mostly for inspiring him to do…a whole bunch of stuff. I don’t think I KNOW enough strong women to really write about them, much less write about them interacting. And I didn’t even manage to write a really coherent ending, so I can’t even count the happy ending one.

Leave a Reply

