SF Writing Results: Short Sketch

That’s in,too, so I’ll finally have these up at the Shaastra site soon. Here goes:

Astronaut 26 3
Record Button On 28 2
Lijo 25 4
When he was a Cockroach 24 5
The Ironic Ambush 19 8
The Superhero who could not fly 21 7
Zatheran 24 5
A Chat with my AI Program 22 6
The Last Rites 29 1

Yes, I have points and all that. πŸ™‚ . This is what the judge had to say about the winning entries:

  1. The Last Rites, by Amey Asgaonkar and Archana Paranjpe:convincing/compelling: Concept – 7
    whether it draws you into its world/whether you find it exciting or moving: Atmosphere/Immersion – 8
    whether you feel the characters come alive as real people:characterisaion – 7
    whether you feel you have learned something, gained some insight, been amused, or enjoyed reading it: Effect – 7

    I liked the premise of this work, as well as the fact that it creeps
    up on you at the end instead of being flashed in your face at the
    outset. I also found the paradox of Superman’s long lost home
    being his nemesis also interesting. The story proceeded well and
    you really got a feel that this is the sort of thing Supes may
    actually say if he were feeling particularly defeatist. I found it
    poignant, and the fact that it provoked some emotional reaction in
    me is probably the reason I enjoyed reading it.

  2. Record Button On, by Vinayak Sapru:
    convincing/compelling: Concept – 6

    whether it draws you into its world/whether you find it exciting or moving: Atmosphere/Immersion – 7

    whether you feel the characters come alive as real people:characterisaion – 8

    whether you feel you have learned something, gained some insight, been amused, or enjoyed reading it: Effect – 7

    While the concept of this story wasn’t particularly unique, the ending premise was funny enough to add something to it. The dialogue (monologue?) was reasonably written and well paced, and the insertion of atmospheric text cues for sound effects did well to add to the mental imagery evoked by the story. The character was suitably interesting enough, and again, the little twist at the end did a lot to save the gory melodrama that the story threatened to descend into towards the end. I did find it amusing, and I was satisfied by the atmosphere introduced.

  3. [No Title] Astronaut.doc, by Harshvardhan Krishnamoorthy:
    convincing/compelling: Concept – 7
    whether it draws you into its world/whether you find it exciting or moving: Atmosphere/Immersion – 6
    whether you feel the characters come alive as real people:characterisation – 6
    whether you feel you have learned something, gained some insight, been amused, or enjoyed reading it: Effect – 7

    The premise of this story is probably what saved it from the others. While not unique, it was compelling and well executed, which is an important aspect of concept execution. The story and atmosphere was plausible, though I feel it is important to avoid an excessive jargonisation of speech patterning, which, while suited to the story, can lead to glassy eyes.Β  Nevertheless, it probably provided the least simplistic moral tale available, and evidence of a thought process that has gone into concept execution is apparent.

And that’s it. Congrats and sorry, people. Now, I have to give this whole thing to the webops guy to put on the Shaastra site. Also, will miss the Golden Jubilee Conclave, I think, no invites and I hardly think I can bug my core like they told me to 😦 . Have more shaastra work anyway. And apparently, public holidays don’t apply to D and C slot profs, so have that as well.

2 thoughts on “SF Writing Results: Short Sketch

  1. cool…who was the judge? and when are fan fiction results coming?

    oh and btw, mail me the winning entries for short sketch also

  2. The judge was my cousin, actually, who’s very much into SF and is working on a novel(although I think it’s stalled a bit, since that’s not his full time job and he’s very busy with other stuff). And fan-fiction:the thing is, since there were so few entries I figured I’d judge it myself, and I didn’t have the time to read it closely enough to come up with a formal points system or comments. But very soon, I promise. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

