Quote of the Week: An Experiment

So, this is more on the religion theme, except in a totally different way. I opened up the Bible(yes, I HAVE a Bible, a nice, leather-backed(leather-covered?leather-bound?) red letter version, it was a gift from my great-aunt before I left for college, and I think I’m supposed to keep it till I get married or something, when presumably I’ll get another one 😛 ) to a random page, something people are supposed to do for divination, and looked somewhere in the middle. And found that a whole bunch of people were descended from a whole other bunch of people. So, I tried again and got this:

The Book of Isaiah, Chapter 55, Verses 10-11:

For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, and do not return there, but water the earth, and make it bring forth the bud, that it may give seed to the sower and bread to the eater, So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth;It shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing[sic] for which I sent it.

This is more or less verbatim, from the New King James Version. And the experiment is very simple: just tell me what it means. I don’t really have much of a clue (besides maybe God’s omnipotence or something), but it sounds quite beautiful, doesn’t it? I’m SURE there are some very good and very lengthy explanations for this, like for every other part of the Bible, and I really do want someone to explain it to me. Ideally, someone with a fairly decent idea of christianity, although not necessarily a believer or something

12 thoughts on “Quote of the Week: An Experiment

  1. Everytime I open the Bible (for, er, divination), all I get is stuff like “The Ruin of Jerusalem” or “The Death of Absalom” or something like that.

    Getting back to your experiment, it seems like the Old Man is saying he intends to get something done and will get it done. But if you like prophecies and shit, you’d think its a reference to the Jesus dude. And the thing that “in the thing” refers to is his crucifixion.

  2. 🙂 The italics were there in the original(is why i put the sic) but I don’t know if it was actually meant for emphasis, or just to show some warning about the translation, which is common for a lot of verses. Does that alter your answer any?

  3. Also…if every time you open the Bible for divination you get death and ruin…I mean, dude, shouldn’t you be seriously reconsidering something? 😀

  4. Doesn’t really alter my answer. What do you have in mind?

    The death and ruin reminds me of this one birthday (ironically the last one I had as a staunch Christian) when I randomly opened the Bible and the passage I got was from “Matthew” in which Jesus asks his (would-be) disciples to “follow him”. 🙂

  5. (For the sake of continuity here) As I was saying, I don’t have any idea whatsoever. It fits, but retroactive fitting isn’t really conclusive.

    Does “staunch christian” mean STAUNCH christian or just “believer”? I don’t really ever remember being the former.

  6. By staunch christian, I mean the kind that prays for the most trivial of tasks (like taking a dump), has had at least one “spiritual experience”, defends his faith through convoluted pseudo-philosophical arguments and prepares everyday for the rapture. 😐

  7. That’s what I meant to indicate by the capitalized “staunch”. I would ask, “Really??”, but I guess that was clear enough. 🙂
    And it was fairly random. I wanted to try the divination thing by checking how long it would take till I saw something remotely applicable, and I saw this, and I though, hey that sounds really nice, I wonder what it MEANS. Ergo…

  8. Several visions. The most graphic ones would be:
    1) God asking me to steal a pencil. I consented immediately.
    2) Satan telling me my brother was going to snuff it in 7 years (this was 14 years back…Satan’s a slacker)
    3) Jesus letting me ride a unicorn

Leave a Reply

