Just had an Idea

Which I’m sure has been tried before. I want to write a fairly linearly played-out novel-or an outline, more likely- and then start rewriting it in reverse chronological order, trying to keep as many of the surprises or twists or whatever hidden for as long as possible, but without altering the plot/storyline(as far as possible). It would also have to make sense, although I have no problem writing only for relatively smart people. Can something like this work? More generally, are there many(any?) books that are laid out in this fashion, the narrative going only backwards in time as the novel progresses? I don’t mean the whole start at the end, cut to the beginning(or middle), and then proceed linearly from there shtick, which is pretty common. Anyone have examples?

Right now, though, I’m way behing on mugging for ADSP. Thank God it’s only day after. Not helped by the fact that I found a whole cache of Meg Cabot ebooks(ah, another secret exposed to the world. Yeah, I read Meg Cabot. Happy?) on esnips.com. If you’re interested, it’s not hard to find; just search. The next few days are going to see me enveloped in a world of implausible romantic tales created for the fantasies of lonely (or not; no offence if you happen to like it 🙂 ) teenage girls. I’m TWENTY, by the way!!! No longer a teen! And I didn’t get to do ANYTHING!!! 😦

6 thoughts on “Just had an Idea

  1. If you mean a story in the style of Memento, there’s the short story Memento Mori by Jonathan Nolan, which the movie was based on. You can read it here: http://www.impulsenine.com/homepage/pages/shortstories/memento_mori.htm

    So, it works. And personally, I’d love to read a story like that.

    As you would need a lot of structure for this story, maybe the Snowflake method would help? Especially for the scene alignement.
    http://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/art/snowflake.php

    Btw, Meg Cabot’s not the worst thing you could read. No need to be ashamed. 😉

    So, I take it your birthday was recently? HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!!
    And what would you like to do, since you didn’t get to do anything? 🙂

  2. Seen the movie, not read the book, will correct that right away 🙂

    @kalafudra:
    Thanks! 🙂 My birthday was this Monday(13th), 2 days before exams(which, as you may have guessed, are going on). So I didn’t really get to celebrate much, besides eating a whole bunch of burgers for dinner. I WANTED to go somewhere with my friends and get drunk and maybe meet new people or something :). Although, when I said “I didn’t get to do anything”, I really meant, “in the last 20 years”. Although that’s not entirely true. Anyway, what I would have liked is a whole new and perhaps useless post; what’s the point? I’d much rather talk about what I want to do next.

    And about Meg Cabot: the rules are a little different for guys, you know. 🙂

  3. Oh, I’m sure that you’ve done a lot and stuff. [Thing is, I can’t really talk you out of that perception because I suffer from it myself… What have I done in my life? Nothing of meaning… /un-emo]
    However, there’s always time to get drunk. 🙂

    Anyway. I tell you what would be more embarassing for you to read:
    Stephenie Meyer. [But then you could always pretend you read it to find out why so many people like it. The answer to which can not be found in the book, though.]
    Nora Roberts. [Not the worst thing in the romance genre but because of popularity a bit more embarassing, imo.]
    MaryJanice Davidson. [Check out her Undead and … series, but don’t forget to wear sunglasse lest you be blinded by the pinkness of the covers…]

    And you can always counterbalance it with a bit of bookbitching. 😉

  4. Well…I DID get drunk the night before with a few guys, a celebratory tipple for finishing 20 years of life without any obvious physical or mental defects. 🙂 I meant, in a more (i.e. wider) social setting, like a party or something.

    And by the way, I read half of Twilight, mostly because you’d written a lot about it. I couldn’t take the “OMG he’s SOO HOT!” bit after that, even though the plot looked like it was going somewhere. I’ve read some Nora Roberts, andit seemed fine… not my type, though. If I’m going into the genre at all, I need the hyperactive giggly stuff 😀

  5. Well, maybe you can make a late party? 😉

    I can completely understand that you wouldn’t finish Twilight. And it only gets worse from there… The best thing about is the fan hype surrounding it. [I still don’t know why I read, scratch that, bought all the books.]

    But if you want hyperactive and giggly, you should definitely check out MaryJanice Davidson. I’ve only read the first few chapters of Undead and Unwed, but it seems to fit the bill.
    If I come up with anything else, I’ll let you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

