Tentative Plans for December

The key word being tentative.

“Constructive” Stuff:

Where constructive is defined fairly loosely.

  1. Do my own version of NaNoWriMo, in December*. Wish I could have done it in November with everyone else, but endsems are a pain.
  2. “Prepare” for next semester. Yeah, really. All my courses depend to a very large extent on prior knowledge which I’m supposed to have gained sometime during the last 2 and a half years, but almost certainly haven’t.
  3. Find something to do for the summer. This deserves a bullet point, for reasons that shall be explained later.
  4. This may not really fit, but: get both computers working the way they’re supposed to. Which includes mailing the Dell service center guys and asking them if they can come to Kottayam instead of Chennai to fix the display for the laptop, fixing whatever the reason is for me not being able to play practically any games at all on the laptop, and getting a whole new keyboard,mouse and possibly speaker system for the desktop. All dependent on what my father’s willing to pay for, of course.

*I DO plan to do this, but it’s more of an exercise to see if I CAN still write any longish(and this will be longer by far than anything else I’ve tried) story, rather than actually trying to write The Novel. I have no intention of putting it up for review by anyone else, at least not under my own name, which means not on this blog. I haven’t really decided the plot -which is bad, because as of an hour back this is officially December- but this will almost certainly be SF/F (by which I mean, it’ll be far-future SF, but whether I make it sound scientifically plausible is a whole other question), very likely some sort of a cliche, and almost certainly bad.

Reading List:

Fiction:

Any recommendations? I have a whole bunch of pulpy stuff that I plan to read if there aren’t, but I was hoping for something solid which is still fun. And preferably easily available. Classic SF/Fantasy would be good, because there’s a chance that any reasonably famous book is somewhere within my 4 GB collection, or can be found on the net. Although, looking to expand, so try me anyway.Β  Meanwhile, will try and finish Snow and The Unbearable Lightness of Being.

Non-fiction:

  1. The General Theory of Employment, Interest and Money, by John Maynard Keynes. By all indications, something I should be reading at this time. Should be particularly helpful if Tyler does in fact go ahead with the Book Club. Also have Capitalism and Freedom to browse through, however. πŸ™‚
  2. The Road to Reality, by Roger Penrose. I’ve had this for a VERY long time now, and still haven’t got past the first few chapters, partly because it felt a little too much like a textbook. More specifically, because I peeked ahead and read from in between and those chapters feel exactly like a textbook. But since I’m quite determinedly and shamefully jobless, I guess I’ll try harder.
  3. Guns,Germs and Steel, by Jared Diamond. Ditto. Although I didn’t really try very hard on this one.

Graphic Novels/Comics:

  1. The Preacher (only because it was there. I have no idea how good it’ll be.)
  2. Marvel 1602
  3. JLA Elseworlds
  4. Batman (specifically, re-read Arkham Asylum, Year One,The Dark Knight Returns, TDK Strikes Again, and the Killing Joke)
  5. The Dreaming*
  6. Fables*
  7. Lucifer*

*Found a great website through a hacked google search that has the entire collectionof all these, plus a lot more. Actual reading will depend on how much I can download. Thankfully, net at home is between 5 and 20 times faster than the connection here, depending on the time of day, so this SHOULD work.

Movies I Downloaded:

Not picked or ranked in any way, just a random assortment of movies that I’d like to see, or see again.

  1. Tortilla Heaven
  2. The Jesus of Montreal
  3. The Breakfast Club
  4. Burn After Reading
  5. Broken English
  6. A Cinderella Story(Yeah, I know. But I NEED something like it sometimes.)
  7. Trainspotting
  8. Fast Times at Ridgemont High
  9. Love Actually (Hey, it’s SWEET! I need something I can watch when I badly need to get the warm fuzzies. Summer of 2007 I went with “You’ve Got Mail.” Hopefully, this’ll work,too. )
  10. Return of The Jedi πŸ˜€
  11. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade πŸ˜€

Games I’m taking in the faint hope that they’ll work on the desktop back home:

  1. SPORE!!! (Oh, please,please,please work!)
  2. Caesar 4 (Only because I remember Caesar 3, besides being the very first game I ever bought for myself, as the only computer game my father ever liked playing, a long,long time ago… back when I was actually into playing games while others offered helpful comments from the sidelines.)
  3. The Elder Scrolls 3: Morrowind
  4. Sid Meier’s Alpha Centauri: This, and the next 2, mostly because they actually work on my laptop.
  5. Monopoly -just the board game, nothing special, but good when you just want to waste time.
  6. N! Best flash game ever! Tough, and addictive. Mostly good when your fingers start to itch. Also has the advantage of being something to do when you want to listen to music, but not “just”.

Also have a bunch of TV shows/anime that I don’t really want to bother listing. And I’d like to go somewhere for the hols, even if that doesn’t seem very likely right now, especially alone. Also hope they’ll finally let me take the car out on my own. Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “Tentative Plans for December

  1. Oh how I envy you for having so much time. Things get crazy for me from December.

    I highly recommend David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas. One of the best books I’ve read all year.

    Skip Preacher and try and get your hands on Y:The Last Man. Sci Fi with copious amounts of social commentary.

    I’ve got Road to Reality in the pipeline too after the brother raved about it. 5 months and 165 pages in.

    And dude, you’re still in college; do not get out unless you’ve read enough Kundera and Camus. It’s like a rule.

  2. Well, it’s sort of a deliberate laziness, possibly at the cost of future blank spaces in my resume, so I don’t know how much I should be envied πŸ™‚ …I’ve heard about Y, but couldn’t find it anywhere. Will try again once I get home. And will definitely work on the Kundera and Camus. πŸ™‚

  3. Is your december somehow twice as long as mine? πŸ™‚

    As for reading (fiction):
    I assume you have already read Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams?
    What I really, really enjoyed is Tad Williams’ Otherland Series. [I don’t know if you have them on your computer and how hard it is for you to read on screen, but they’re pretty long – 4 books between 750 and 1000 pages each – so you might want to check them out in paper form…] It’s got great characters, a gripping story, no plotholes, as far as I noticed at least, it’s very well written and really intelligent.
    Oh, and what I can heartily recommend, which is not exactly science fiction, but then again, it’s not fantasy either, is Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next Series. Funny as hell, absolutely crazy and definitely addictive. Fforde has another series as well – the Nursery Crime Division. Just as great.

    I don’t read that much SciFi, so I’ll leave it at that. For general recommendation, though, there’s
    – Chuck Palahniuk
    – Bret Easton Ellis (if you can handle the gore)
    – Mark Haddon – The Curious Incident with the Dog in the Nighttime (sweet and funny, a crime story fitting for Christmas, even if it’s not Christmas themed) [Haven’t read Spot of Bother yet, but I suspect it’s good]
    – Jonathan Safran Foer – Wonderfully written, thoughtful novels
    – Mark Z. Danielewski (if you want to have your brain screwed)

    Graphic Novels:
    Just to say: I LOVE Fables! πŸ™‚
    I can also recommend Blacksad (if your into noir detective stories with wonderful artwork).
    And Blankets by Craig Thompson is wonderful.
    Oh, and check out Shaun Tan’s Arrival.

    For movies
    If you like A Cinderella Story, check out Never Been Kissed with Drew Barrymore. Does it for me every time. [Ever After and Wedding Singer are nice as well. And Music & Lyrics. I guess, you could watch yourself through most of DB’s filmography…]
    And Love Actually is WONDERFUL. Great movie.
    Oh and you can try Playing by Heart (with Sean Connery, among others) – a really good fluff movie.

    Trainspotting is great – you should read it sometime.

    Okay, I think that’s enough recommendations for now. If you want some more, just let me know.

  4. Wow, thanks for the help, that is a LONG comment. πŸ™‚

    Yeah, I’ve read most of Douglas Adams and some of Vonnegut, will try the rest sometime. Had heard of but not read the Otherland series. Size isn’t really a problem, I’ve read several books from the Wheel of Time series on the laptop and they’re between 800-1000 pages each πŸ™‚ Hadn’t heard of Jasper Fforde,though…let me see if I can get it somewhere.

    Already into Chuck Palahnuik and Mark Haddon πŸ™‚ …will see about the rest. Not sure finding graphic novels will be that easy;my budget can’t possibly stretch to buying them on paper, and I don’t know how much there is online that I can conveniently download.

    I don’t know if I like Cinderella Story yet, but I’ve already seen Never Been Kissed and the others(except Heart), and I like those, so I guess I can be hopeful. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh,yes, but only if you’re into huge -and I mean HUGE:11 books of some 800-1000 pages each- fantasy epics. Unfortunately, Robert Jordan died with the last book unfinished, he’d been on his deathbed for a while now. I think they commissioned someone else to finish off the series, but I guess it’s not coming anytime soon.

  6. @bitterQ: Read quite a bit of the Preacher. It’s interesting, if a little depressing. And I hadn’t expected this, but a lot more swearing than I’m used to. πŸ™‚

    @Aarathi: I know quite a few people who do, actually…were we supposed to be rare? πŸ™‚

    (Btw, the IP’s from the insti, but I can’t seem to figure out if I know you. Do I?)

Leave a Reply

