My New Desktop

I’ve been wanting to use this picture for a very long time. Click for the full-size version.

The Natalie Portman desktop

The Natalie Portman desktop

It’s not a very altered shell- I thought about making it look more like a Mac/Linux clone, but after a few experimental runs, I found that I simply like the familiarity of Windows for daily use. Even ObjectDock is useless, so chances are I’ll be getting rid of that as well, soon.

Double clicking the progressbar for the drive space on either drive opens up that drive, double clicking the RAM progressbar opens up MKN Task Explorer, and doubleclicking the to-do list opens up…the to-do list. The music player display is a bit more streamlined…just a title and progressbar.  Anything more would have meant some text shows up even when nothing was playing, which I found a little irritating last time.

In other news, finally watched Slumdog Millionaire, and aside from the fact that no kid from the slums could possibly have that accent( and no, I don’t think this is just my prejudices coming through or anything, most Indians who talk daily in english still maintain much more of an accent than he does; Dev Patel is good, but it’s pretty obvious that he’s from England*) I loved the movie. It’s (as far as I can tell, because I have very limited experience of this side of India) a more or less realistic adaptation of life in the slums and the streets of Mumbai, and it manages to be gritty and uplifting at the same time.

*imdb’s trivia section says “After failing to find a suitable actor in India”…really? Just how hard did they search?

2 thoughts on “My New Desktop

  1. love the wallpaper and the taskbar…not so the green highlights behind the icon text. i see what you mean by Mac clone…just drag the taskbar up and put objectdock down. but, yes objectdock is pretty useless. gave up on it long back. no docks for me. you could use the tweak UI powertoy to remove that small arrow symbol on the bottom left corner of icons.

Leave a Reply

