Good News Bad News

Good News: Thermal and a Quarter’s “Shut up and Vote!” concert was actually totally awesome, even if I couldn’t sneak in the whisky.

Bad News: I couldn’t sneak in the whisky, and it would have been SO much more awesome when high. Also, have exams starting Monday and I quite literally haven’t studied a word.

Good News: Replacement Events Treat for Shaastra tomorrow at Barbeque Nation. Another wonderful opportunity to stuff your face with pure, delicious meat. I even managed to convince some of the more reluctant people to come, so that I wouldn’t be with a bunch of strangers.

Bad News: Juniper internship interviews at the same time tomorrow, so I miss the treat. AGAIN.

Good News: Shortlisted for Juniper Networks interview, which is really awesome because it’s on one of the few things I actually know (very little, but even so) about, pays a whole 20 grand a month(which, come on, is pretty great money for an intern), and its in Bangalore, so it scores on money, nature of work and location.

Bad News: Oh, please. Like I’m getting in. They demanded a minimum CGPA of 7.5 just to apply. I have no idea how my measly 7.33 wormed its way in, but I’m pretty sure it’s not going any further. Normally, I’d bet my chances on an interview over most people, but all the guys from electrical, at least, are quite decent- certainly, none have bad enough communication skills as to lose the considerable advantages that their resumes offer.

Good news: Hey, you never know… and if I believed in signs, my keyboard spontaneously fixing itself is probably a good omen, not a bad one.

(UPDATE: 5:30 PM) Bad News: No such luck. They ended up taking 5 cs guys and one elec girl. Also, my keyboard spontaneously unfixed itself, and is currently a major pain to use.

5 thoughts on “Good News Bad News

  1. Good luck!

    And don’t worry about the CGPA – they obviously saw something else in your resume which was more important. And I do think that once you’re invited to the interview, they want to know you, not the resume. 🙂

  2. @Koze:
    Well, I thought of that, but it was Signature, didn’t want to waste it that quickly. Also, would’ve been weird walking in smelling of whisky in front of all the earnest young volunteers collecting our contact details. But mostly, I didn’t want to waste it.

    @Kalafudra: Thanks. I guess that’s true, but the resume never hurts. In any case, I didn’t get the internship. Partly because of the whole resume thing, I guess, but also because it was primarily a computer science internship, the work profile had very little that we’d learned about in our courses. Eventually, they took 5 guys from CS and one girl from electrical, from a pool of 6 elec and 6 cs guys.

  3. Oh… I’m sorry to hear that. But I’m sure you’ll get other possibilities. 🙂

    Btw. I wanted to thank you for turning me on The Big Bang Theory – I’m crying my eyes out because I’m laughing so hard.

Leave a Reply

