Transformers 2:Revenge of the Fallen

[This post is somewhat dated, and I have cooled down a bit, but I still largely feel what I felt when I wrote this. So here goes:]

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is just about the worst movie from the point of-well, everything except special effects- that I’ve seen in a very, very long time. And I’ve seen a lot of bad movies this summer, simply from not having anything else to do. I know that the movie is aimed primarily at people who only care about seeing big machines blow up other big machines, and to be honest, I’m into that myself, sometimes. But this was an altogether more painful experience. It was as if I was paying money to sit for 2 and a half hours in a crowded theatre with a bunch of people who hoot every time we get a glimpse of Megan Fox’s cleavage while Michael Bay was shouting insults from the screen. In surround sound, and with never-ending explosions in the background. Of course, the fact that I went with 4 of my friends, and 2 of them loved it and the others thought it merely “long” might also mean that he’s not so much an asshole a really smart panderer who knows exactly what the lowest common denominator is looking for in a summer blockbuster.

And speaking of stereotypes: I don’t think Michael Bay is a racist, exactly… I just think he has been conditioned to believe that racism-or rather, stereotypical minority characters who are all the more offensive for the ridiculous way in which they are attempted  to be included-sell(s), and judging by the kind of collection that Transformers 2 is raking in, he’s not likely to change his mind any time soon. And yet the movie is just wrong, in so many ways- I can’t believe this man found a way to imbue robots with instantly recognizable racial characteristics, and then decide to portray them in the worst manner possible. Especially when they perform no part whatsoever in the central plotline, or what stands for it here. My question is, how do we tell him YES for giant fighting robots, and no for the ridiculously caricatured dialogues* and characters** and events that make up the rest of this movie?

*Megan Fox:”But how do you know?” Shia:”Because I BELIEVE!”; also, that ridiculous blinking contest between those two about who first says the L word.  Oh, hell, I don’t know why I’m quoting, every LINE is a cliche.

** from everyone in the last movie to the new and gorgeous Isabel Lucas.

7 thoughts on “Transformers 2:Revenge of the Fallen

  1. Ok, people keep asking this, but as you can see by the comment just above, it’s not like it was that obvious! Not everyone thought it would necessarily suck! I figured I should at least give it a chance.

    Also, I was really bored.

  2. Experience most people, has been received?Been prominent in, long-term sitting Do.Was the wrong, they havent learned.Movies that are how to get revenge, no stronger then Besitzt der Werbeartikel.You A professional, for high maintenance.,

Leave a Reply

