My Geek Code

GE/L/P d(+) s:+ a– C+(++) UL P L+(++) E(-) W+++ N++ o? K w(+) !O !M !VMS PS+(+++) PE++(-) Y+ PGP t 5? X R tv+ b+++ DI+ D+ G e++>+++ h- r z?

Man, that was LONG!I’m not supposed to be this jobless!

Explanation:

()
for indicating “cross-overs” or ranges. Geeks who go from C+ to C— depending on the situation (i.e. mostly “C+”)                could use C+(—).

!
Placed BEFORE the category. Unless stated otherwise, indicates that the person refuses to participate in this category. This is unlike the ? variable as the ? indicates lack of knowledge, while the ! indicates stubborn refusal to participate. For example, !E would be a person that just plain refuses to have anything to do with Emacs, while E? would be a person that doesn’t even know what Emacs is.

>

for ‘wannabe’ ratings. Indicating that while the geek is currently at one rating, they are striving to reach another.
Continued below.

Type of Geek

GE — Geek of Engineering
GL — Geek of Literature
GP — Geek of Philosophy

Dress
d(+)
d+ Good leisure-wear. Slacks, button-shirt, etc. No jeans, tennis shoes, or t-shirts.
d I dress a lot like those found in catalog ads. Bland, boring, without life or meaning.

Shape
s:+
I’m a little rounder than most.

Age
a–
Aged 20-24

Computers
C+(++)
C++ : Computers are a large part of my existence. When I get up in the morning, the first thing I do is log myself in. I play games or mud on weekends, but still manage to stay off of academic probation.
C+ : Computers are fun and I enjoy using them. I play a mean game of DOOM! and can use a word processor without resorting to the manual too often. I know that a 3.5″ disk is not a hard disk. I also know that when it says ‘press any key to continue’, I don’t have to look for a key labeled ‘ANY’.

Unix/Linux
UL
I have a Unix account to do my stuff in

Perl
P
I know Perl exists, but that’s all.

Linux
(I use it about half the time. Some days exclusively, some days not. Some things are still buggy with my install, and I’ve given up trying to fix them.)
L+(++)
L+ I’ve managed to get Linux installed and even used it a few times. It seems like it is just another OS.
L++
I use Linux ALMOST exclusively on my system. I’ve given up trying to achieve Linux.God status, but welcome the OS as a replacement for DOS. I only boot to DOS to play games

Emacs
E(-)
E Yeah, I know what emacs is, and use it as my regular editor.
E- Emacs is too big and bloated for my tastes

Web Usage[Obviously, this is a really old meme)
W+++
I am a WebMaster . Don’t even think about trying to view my homepage without the latest version of Netscape. When I’m not on my normal net connection, I surf the web using my Newton and a cellular modem.

Usenet (I’m substituting Google Reader for Usenet here:)
N++
I read all the news in a select handful of group

The Usenet Oracle(I’ve never heard of the Usenet Oracle)
o?

Kibo
K
I know who Kibo is

Windows Usage
w(+)
(I do customize my comp, but I don’t like how often it crashes)
w+
I have installed my own custom sounds, wallpaper, and screen savers so my PC walks and talks like a fun house. Oh yeah, I have a hundred TrueType(tm) fonts that I’ve installed but never used. I never lose Minesweeper and Solitaire
w
Ok, so I use MS Windows, I don’t have to like it.

OS2/Macintosh/VMS
I don’t use any of these
!O

!M

!VMS

Politics and Society
Hey, you’ve all heard this 🙂
PS+(+++)
PS+++
Legalize drugs! Abolish the government. “Fuck the draft!”
PS++
I give to liberal causes. I march for gay rights. I’m a card carrying member of the ACLU. Keep abortion safe and legal.
PS+
My whole concept of liberalism is that nobody has the right to tell anybody else what to do, on either side of the political fence. If you don’t like it, turn the bloody channel.

Politics and Economics
Again:
PE++(-)
PE++
Keep the government off the backs of businesses. Deregulate as much as possible.
PE+
Balance the budget with spending cuts and an amendment.
PE
Distrust both government and business.
PE-
It’s ok to increase government spending, so we can help more poor people. Tax the rich! Cut the defense budget!

Cypherpunks
Y+
I have an interest and concern in privacy issues, but in reality I am not really all that active or vocal.

(On PGP, or Pretty Good Privacy)
PGP
I’ve used it, but stopped long ago

(On Star Trek)
t
It’s just another TV show

On Babylon 5. I’ve never seen it.
5?

On X-Files
X
Ho hum. Just another Fox show.

On Role Playing
R
Role-Playing? That’s just something to do to kill a Saturday afternoon

TV
tv+
I watch some tv every day.

Books
b+++
I consume a few books a week as part of a staple diet.

Dilbert
DI+
I read Dilbert daily, often understanding it

(On DOOM)
D+
It’s a fun, action game that is a nice diversion on a lazy afternoon.

On the geek code
G
I know what the geek code is and even did up this code.

Education
e++>+++
(I WILL get a Master’s degree in another year and a half, so I guess I can say this)
e+++
Got a Masters degree
e++
Got a Bachelors degree

Housing
I’m pretty sure a hostel in IIT Madras counts for this level.

h-
Living with one or more registered Geeks.

On Relationships.I don’t, in fact, date periodically, just the one long relationship and crushes, but nothing else really fits:
r
I date periodically.

Sex
z?
It’s none of your business what my sex life is like (this is used to denote your gender only).

2 thoughts on “My Geek Code

  1. Ok seriously, you must have been absolutely bombed-out-of-your-mind jobless to do this 🙂 Still, I’m not complaining. I have this awesome wallpaper of a comp’s stylised motherboard with the word geek glowing on it plastered over my desktop.

Leave a Reply

