Quote of the Week: Because Some People Need Reminding

“When you read the book,it’s like, ‘Edward Cullen was so beautiful I creamed myself.’ I mean, every line is like that. He’s the most ridiculous person who’s so amazing at everything. I think a lot of actors tried to play that aspect. I just couldn’t do that. And the more I read the script, the more I hated this guy, so that’s how I played him, as a manic-depressive who hates himself. Plus, he’s a 108-year-old virgin so he’s obviously got some issues there.”

–Robert Pattinson

via kalafudra.

5 thoughts on “Quote of the Week: Because Some People Need Reminding

  1. I think the more people trash Twilight, the more successful it becomes. I mean, when even the lead actor talks about how bad it is in public, you have to wonder if these guys are using some sort of reverse psychology to sell it. The scary thing is, it’s working.

    • It shouldn’t take reverse psychology or anything, actually, the allure is pretty obvious. Look, here’s a cozy little story with vampires and a perfect, divine love! What’s not to like? It’s simple and easy to empathize with and everyone’s fantasy, and the combination is very powerful. People who don’t read all that much in the first place are not likely to care deeply about purple prose or the lack of conflict.

Leave a Reply

