Resolutions ’10

It remains to be seen whether I’ll really stick with any of them, of course, but it’s worth a try, isn’t it?

1)Do More Stupid Things, and Try Harder at Them

Because I try far too hard not to, right now. This specifically involves doing fun-but-embarrassing and interesting-but-(I’m)not-too-good-at things. Also, speaking in various cliches, it involves “putting myself out there”, and “do it trembling if you must, but do it!”

2) Re-prioritize

Specifically, this means that I should spend at least as much time on any given day studying or doing something to materially “advance my prospects”- or just anything more focused on something I like doing; I could also try generally trying something fun in terms of coding, for example, because improving my coding skills is a good secondary “focus”, too- as I spend reading feeds or on facebook, twitter and the like. I’m honestly not sure how well this will work, because currently I spend FAR more time on all the rest than on anything really useful. But we’ll see.

3) Realize that Structure is not the same as Defeat*

Specifically, have a more scheduled life in general, and stick to it. Wash my clothes every week and not just when they run out. Wake up and go to bed at a sufficiently early time (say, 11-7) everyday, not just when I have an 8 o’ clock class or when I have nothing better to do.  Set aside some non-negotiable time for studies, however small that period may be.  (Correlated with 1) Get involved in more structured activities with rigid time periods and don’t worry about making time, make time.

*Makes more sense if you understand that I’ve long been a bit of an anarchist with respect to these things. Oh, I love to make lists and I’ve experimented with GTD and any number of productivity systems and tools, but I was always trying to find some way of abstracting whatever seemed worthwhile in these things while still maintaining a “carefree” existence. It hasn’t quite worked out that way, in any case.

PS: I find it strange that I can’t quite figure out which of the many categories that I’ve already listed this post would fit into. Or what I would name a new one, if I created one for this.

4 thoughts on “Resolutions ’10

  1. Hi Nikhil –

    I’m Judd Corizan from the blog Sunday Stealing. Every week we rip a meme off someone’s blog. Today we chose yours from 12/22. We give you full credit and link back to your blog. The great thing is that a lot of previous “victims” such as yourself have become regular players! We usually publish the blog between 3 and 6 PM EST Saturday. We usually get between 50 to 80 people who play and comment on each other’s responses. And a lot of our players are previous victims of our theft like you! We hope you play along in the weeks to come! Thank you and have a great day…

  2. Pingback: Resolution Review « The Ego Chronicles

Leave a Reply

